Practice Makes Perfect: Why Is Gratitude So Hard?

Yesterday we talked about naming.  Today we continue on that theme but in a very different way.

1000GIFTSI’ve been slowly reading through Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts.  Slowly because there is a lot to digest.

Voskamp suggests that the downfall of humanity is our ingratitude; a failure to give thanks is the root of all sin and brokenness.  She challenges us to begin to name the blessings around us in order that we may be remade by gratitude.

She quotes Alexander Schmemann who says:

Now in the Bible a name…reveals the very essence of a thing, or rather its essence as God’s gift.  To name a thing is to manifest the meaning and value God gave it, to know it as coming from God and to know its place and function within the cosmos created by God.  To name a thing, in other words, is to bless God for it and in it.

So then, the challenge is to see all of life as grace, all as a gift.  The challenge is to view struggle as birthing beauty and to name the beauty.  Generally I focus on the empty, on the pain, on the struggle.  I want my tongue to learn the langue of gratitude.  I want to teach my children the view from the lens of grace.  I desire my gratitude to be not trite but true and holy.

I am slow to gratitude.  It is as though my eyes can see and take in all that is good around me but my tongue is slow to speak it.  Honestly, I’m kind of rotten at it.

Do you practice gratitude?  How?

Leave a Reply

