Peas, Knees and T3s

I had my surgery this week. It involved a little more pre-op hoopla than I expected. Turns out that if the doctor squeezes you in, there might be a few important pieces of information that you don’t hear about ahead of time. At a few points, it looked like it just wasn’t going to happen.

One example: in the health region, you need a pre-op physical from your GP before you can have your surgery. Good thing I found this out 2 hours before I had to leave for my surgery. We stopped everything and prayed. Even though my doctor was covering for someone else, he squeezed me in. All the other details came together too. Thank God.

I’m waiting for my post-op visit to find out all the details but it looks like my meniscus was not torn but there was a problem with the bone surface that he was able to fix.

I’ve spent more time in bed this week than I have in the last, oh, year maybe. I no longer have any right to complain about being behind in the sleep department, especially not to my dear husband playing Mr. Mom.

The first few days were spent with my favourite bag of peas, a pillow under my leg and pleading with the clock to hurry up so I could take more medication. Just as my knee started improving, I got hit with the mother of all headaches and her nauseating minions. Let’s just say it is bad if I lay down. And if I sit up or stand, ha! Brutal. Apparently the nausea we were trying to avoid with the general anesthetic has been trumped by the spinal headache. You can go away now, headache. Pretty please.

And with that said, my eyes cannot take more computer screen, so I sign off to continue my hibernation. Little Micah is fast asleep beside me so I think I will enjoy a wee snuggle before he decides to wake and jump on me like a trampoline. I kid you not. The giggle is worth it.

2 thoughts on “Peas, Knees and T3s

  1. I hate to be the bearer of further bad news, but the only “proven” risk factor for tibiofemoral osteoarthritis is a torn meniscus (with or without surgery – less-so with surgery but still the primary risk factor). There are other risk factors out there, but the research is still inconclusive. Start babying it now, but still try to keep up with strengthening exercises and physio. Your other knee will thank you. (Interestingly, TF OA is just as likely on the contra-lateral knee as well – biomechanically related and has to do with gait adaptations. Really neat stuff if you’re into it.)

    I’m working on adamantium knee replacements. I’ll let you know how that all turns out. In the meantime enjoy your “couch days”. 😀

    • Interesting Deena. I’ve certainly wondered about long term consequences of gait adaptation (other than my 1 year old limping around on two perfectly fine legs!) Turns out it was a broad band of scar tissue and not a torn meniscus so hopefully no OA for me. Keep me posted on your research. Sounds fascinating–if you know how to spell really well 😉

Leave a Reply

